Table of Contents Previous Next Index

2012 Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual

Clinics and Other Outpatient Facility Services Handbook : 4. Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) : 4.1 Enrollment

4.1 Enrollment
To enroll in Texas Medicaid, an FQHC must be receiving a grant under Section 329, 330, or 340 of the Public Health Service Act or designated by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to have met the requirements to receive this grant. FQHCs and their satellites are required to enroll in Medicare to be eligible for Medicaid enrollment. The CMS has granted a waiver for the Medicare prerequisite at the time of initial enrollment of FQHC parents and satellites. FQHC look-alikes are not required to enroll in Medicare but may elect to do so to receive reimbursement for crossovers.
Refer to:
A copy of the Public Health Service’s Notice of Grant Award reflecting the project period and the current budget period must be submitted with the enrollment application. A current notice of grant award must be submitted to TMHP Provider Enrollment annually.
FQHCs are required to notify TMHP of all satellite centers that are affiliated with the parent FQHC and their actual physical addresses. All FQHC satellite centers billing Texas Medicaid for FQHC services must also be approved by the United States Department of Health and Human Services Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA). For accounting purposes, centers may elect to enroll the HRSA-approved satellites using a Federally Qualified Satellite (FQS) provider identifier that ties back to the parent FQHC provider identifier and tax ID number (TIN). This procedure allows for the parent FQHC to have one provider agreement and one cost report that combines all costs from all approved satellites and the parent FQHC. If an approved satellite chooses to submit claims to Texas Medicaid directly, the center must have a provider identifier separate from the parent FQHC and will be required to file a separate cost report.
All providers are required to read and comply with Section 1: Provider Enrollment and Responsibilities. In addition to required compliance with all requirements specific to Texas Medicaid, it is a violation of Texas Medicaid rules when a provider fails to provide health-care services or items to Medicaid clients in accordance with accepted medical community standards and standards that govern occupations, as explained in 1 TAC §371.1617(a)(6)(A). Accordingly, in addition to being subject to sanctions for failure to comply with the requirements that are specific to Texas Medicaid, providers can also be subject to Texas Medicaid sanctions for failure, at all times, to deliver health-care items and services to Medicaid clients in full accordance with all applicable licensure and certification requirements including, without limitation, those related to documentation and record maintenance.
FQHC providers do not need to apply for a separate physician or agency number to provide family planning services.
Refer to:
Subsection 1.1, “Provider Enrollment” in Section 1, “Provider Enrollment and Responsibilities” (Vol. 1, General Information) for more information about enrollment procedures.
FQHCs must identify and attest to all contractual agreements for those medical services in which the FQHC is receiving PPS reimbursement. This is a mandate from the 2012 to 2013 General Appropriations Act, H.B. 1, 82nd Legislature, Regular Session, 2011 (Article II, Health and Human Services Commission, Rider 78).
The attestation shall be made using the Community and Migrant Health Center Affiliation Affidavit, which is available on page 43 of this manual and the TMHP website at

Texas Medicaid & Healthcare Partnership
CPT only copyright 2011 American Medical Association. All rights reserved.