Table of Contents Previous Next

December 2016 Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual

Section 1: Provider Enrollment and Responsibilities : 1.6 Provider Responsibilities : 1.6.1 Compliance with Texas Family Code : 1.6.1.3 Procedures for Reporting Abuse or Neglect

1.6.1.3
Professionals as defined in the law are required to report no later than the 48th hour after the hour the professional first has cause to believe the child has been or may be abused or is the victim of the offense of indecency with a child.
Nonprofessionals shall immediately make a report after the nonprofessional has cause to believe that the child’s physical or mental health or welfare has been adversely affected by abuse.
A report shall be made regardless of whether the provider staff suspect that a report may have previously been made.
Reports of abuse or indecency with a child must be made to one of the following:
Department of Family and Protective Services (DFPS) if the alleged or suspected abuse involves a person responsible for the care, custody, or welfare of the child (the DFPS Texas Abuse/Neglect Hotline, at 1‑800‑252‑5400, operated 24 hours a day, 7 days a week)
The law requires the report to include the following information if known:
Reports can be made anonymously.
A provider may not reveal whether the child has been tested or diagnosed with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) or acquired immunodeficiency syndrome (AIDS).
If the minor’s identity is unknown (e.g., the minor is at the provider’s office anonymously to receive testing for HIV or a sexually transmitted disease [STD]), no report is required.

Texas Medicaid & Healthcare Partnership
CPT only copyright 2014 American Medical Association. All rights reserved.