Table of Contents Previous Next

December 2016 Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual

Children’s Services Handbook : Appendix D. Texas Health Steps Statutory State Requirements : D.4 Early Childhood Intervention (ECI) Referrals

D.4
All health-care professionals are required by federal and state regulations to refer children who are birth through 35 months of age to the Texas ECI Program as soon as possible, but no longer than 7 days after identifying a disability or suspected delay in development.
Referrals can be based on professional judgment or a family’s concern. A medical diagnosis or a confirmed developmental delay is not required for referrals.
To refer families for services, providers should use the ECI referral form available on the Texas Pediatric Society website at http://txpeds.org/sites/txpeds.org/files/documents/ECI-Referral-Form.pdf. Providers may also refer families for services by calling their local ECI program or the Department of Assistive and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) Inquiry Line at 1-800-628-5115.
To facilitate referrals for ECI services an optional form is available on the Texas Pediatric Society website at http://txpeds.org/sites/txpeds.org/files/documents/ECI-Referral-Form.pdf.
For additional ECI information, providers can visit the DARS website at www.dars.state.tx.us/ecis. Persons who are deaf or hard of hearing can call the TDD/TTY Line at 1-866-581-9328.

Texas Medicaid & Healthcare Partnership
CPT only copyright 2014 American Medical Association. All rights reserved.