Table of Contents Previous Next

December 2016 Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual

Children’s Services Handbook : 2 Medicaid Children’s Services Comprehensive Care Program (CCP) : 2.7 Early Childhood Intervention (ECI) Services

2.7
The Texas ECI Program is available statewide to all children who have been determined to be eligible for ECI services by ECI Program providers. To be eligible for ECI services, children must be 35 months of age and younger (i.e., before their third birthday) and have disabilities or developmental delays as defined by ECI criteria. Texas Medicaid covers the ECI claims for children who are Medicaid clients.
All health-care professionals are required by federal and state regulations to refer children who are 35 months of age and younger (i.e., before their third birthday) to the Texas ECI Program as soon as possible, but no longer than 7 days after identifying a disability or suspected delay in development. Referrals can be based on professional judgment or a family’s concern. A medical diagnosis or a confirmed developmental delay is not required for referrals.
To refer families for services, providers can call their local ECI program, or they can call the Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) Inquiry Line at 1-877-787-8999. For additional ECI information, providers can visit the Early Childhood Intervention Services page of the HHS website at https://hhs.texas.gov. Persons who are hearing-impaired can call the TDD/TTY line at 1-866-581-9328.

Texas Medicaid & Healthcare Partnership
CPT only copyright 2014 American Medical Association. All rights reserved.