Table of Contents Previous Next

December 2016 Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual

Radiology and Laboratory Services Handbook : 3 Radiological and physiological laboratory services : 3.1 Enrollment : 3.1.1 Enrollment Criteria for Mammography Providers

All mammography providers, including those providing stereotactic biopsies, must be certified by the Bureau of Radiation Control (BRC).
Additionally, the Department of State Health Services (DSHS) issues mammography certification to providers who render mammography services. Providers can submit this certification to the TMHP Provider Enrollment Department in lieu of certification issued by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), because a mammography certification issued by DSHS is recognized by the FDA. TMHP will also accept mammography certification issued by the FDA. The certificate will contain the BRC certification number, dates of issue and expiration, type of service, and Texas Medicaid and Children with Special Health Care Needs (CSHCN) Services Program provider identifiers.
Providers must check the expiration date of their mammography certification and submit an updated mammography certification prior to the expiration date. The certifications may be mailed or faxed to:
Texas Medicaid & Healthcare Partnership
Provider Enrollment
PO Box 200795
Austin, TX 78720-0795
Fax: 1-512-514-4214

Texas Medicaid & Healthcare Partnership
CPT only copyright 2014 American Medical Association. All rights reserved.