Skip to main content

You must have JavaScript enabled in order to access this part of the site. Please enable JavaScript and then reload this page in order to continue.

New HTW Provider Certification Requirements

Last updated on

Click to view the updated version of this article.

Beginning June 1, 2021, in addition to the providers that are currently required to complete a Healthy Texas Women (HTW) certification, most provider types and provider specialties will also be required to complete a HTW certification in order to be reimbursed for HTW services.

Providers that are enrolled in Medicaid as one of these provider types and specialties, but choose not to complete the certification, will not be reimbursed for HTW services provided on or after June 1, 2021. The following HTW providers are exempt from the HTW certification requirement, but must still comply with HTW program policy to be reimbursed:

  • Independent laboratories
  • Radiology providers
  • Teaching hospitals

Note: Providers that have a current HTW certification on file do not need to take any action.

Providers can use the Provider Information Management System (PIMS) to complete the certification by June 1. For more information about using PIMS, providers can refer to the Provider Information Management System (PIMS) Instructions for HTW Certification and Attestation.

For more information about HTW provider policies, including provider enrollment and the HTW certification, providers can refer to the current Texas Medicaid Provider Procedures Manual, Healthy Texas Women Program Handbook, section 2.1 Guidelines for HTW Providers and section 2.2 HTW Provider Enrollment.

For more information, call the TMHP Contact Center at 800-925-9126.