Skip to main content

Members Sought for the State Medicaid Managed Care Advisory Committee

Last updated on 9/8/2021

If you’re interested in issues surrounding the statewide operation of Medicaid managed care, you may want to apply to be a member of the State Medicaid Managed Care Advisory Committee. The Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) executive commissioner will appoint members to the committee to serve a term expiring August 31, 2023.

Applications are due by 11:59 p.m., September 24, 2021.

HHSC will consider applicants' qualifications, background, and interest in serving on the committee and will try to choose committee members who represent the diversity of all Texans. For this reason, HHSC considers applicants' ethnicity, gender, and geographic location.

  • Please review the linked application letter to find out who the committee is seeking as representatives and if you qualify.
  • After reviewing the application letter and verifying that you meet the qualifications for at least one category, click on the application link here to apply to be on the committee.

HHSC prefers that you submit your application electronically, but you may submit the application by email, mail, or fax. Here are the addresses:


Texas Health and Human Services Commission
4900 N. Lamar Blvd.
Mail Code 0223
Austin, TX 78751
Attn: Susanna Sparkman

Fax: 512-206-3984

A State Medicaid Managed Care Advisory Committee member must regularly participate in committee meetings. They may also have to participate in subcommittee meetings, projects, and presentations. Committee meetings are held about once every three months in Austin or at the call of the presiding officer. To the extent permitted by the current state budget, a committee member who receives services from HHSC or is a family member of a client may be repaid for their travel expenses to and from meetings if money is available and in accordance with the HHSC Travel Policy. Other committee members aren’t paid to attend or travel to and from committee meetings.

For more information about the committee, visit the committee website or contact the Office of Policy and Program.

For more information about the application process, contact Susanna Sparkman.